Join the Conference

Scope of the Conference

To meet the demand of the bionic scientists for academic communication, the 2nd International Youth Conference of Bionic Engineering (IYCBE2018) will be held on 7th-9th November 2018 in Odense, Denmark. This conference will be supported by the International Society of Bionic Engineering (ISBE), the Youth Committee of International Society of Bionic Engineering, and Frontiers in Neurorobotics and organized by University of Southern Denmark, Nanjing University of Aeronautics & Astronautics, Jilin University, and Lanzhou Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. The objective of this interdisciplinary conference is to provide an international forum for youth or outstanding scientists and engineers around the world who are interested in the field of bionic science and engineering. All aspects of bionic science and engineering and application areas are welcome, including, but not limited to, the following topics:

  • Bio-inspired Robotics

  • Bio-inspired Sensors and Actuators

  • Bio-inspired Energy Storage

  • Bio-inspired Flexible Electronics

  • Bio-Inspired Solar Cells

  • Biomimetic Engineering

  • Embodied Artificial Intelligence and Neurorobotics

  • Functional Morphology

  • Musculoskeletal Systems, Biomechanics

  • Biological Interface and Functionalization

  • Biomimetic Materials, Biomimetic Structures

  • Mechanics, Biomimetic Surfaces

  • Biomimetic Design Methodologies

  • Bionic Fluid, Biological Systems

  • and Brain-Inspired Computing and Neuromorphic Systems

Plenary Talks


John Hallam

University of Southern Denmark, Denmark


Zhendong Dai

Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China

Invited Speakers


Thierry Darmanin

University of Nice-Sophia Antipolis, France


Zhiguang Guo

Lanzhou Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China


Alexander Spröwitz

Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Germany


Massimo Sartori

University of Twente, Netherlands


Lars Heepe

Kiel University, Germany


Limei Tian

Jilin University, China

Figures Related to the Talks

Conference Information

Paper Submission Instruction and Publication Details

All accepted abstracts with oral or poster presentation will be published in Frontiers in Neurorobotics. Selected authors may additionally be invited to submit extended versions for a conference Special Issue of Frontiers in Neurorobotics ( and Journal of Bionic Engineering (

Conference Format

The conference will be single track with additional poster sessions.

Important Dates

Abstract Submission Deadline: 1st June 2018
Notification of Acceptance: 20th August 2018
Camera Ready Submission: 20th September 2018
Early Registration: 20th September 2018
Conference: 7th-9th November 2018


The program can be downloaded in the next section

Day 1 program to be announced


Day 2 program to be announced


Day 3 program to be announced


Conference Program


To be announced



IYCBE2018 will be held at:

Auditorium O100, Main Entrance
University of Southern Denmark,
Campusvej 55,
5230 Odense M,

How to get here?

The auditorium O100 is situated at the main entrance, as shown on this mapAlso, you may find the timetables for trains and busses as well as the Google Maps helpful. Other useful links for visitors are the homepages of visit Odense and the local weather forecast


To be announced










Organising Committee

The Honorary Chair:

Julian Vincent

General Chair:

Poramate Manoonpong

Vice-General Chairs:

Limei Tian, Zhiguang Guo

Program Chair:

Jørgen C. Larsen

Local Arrangement Chair:

Danish Shaikh

Publication Chairs:

Jan-Matthias Braun, Xiaofeng Xiong

Registration Chair:

Tórur Andreassen

Media Operation Chair:

Mathias Thor

Technical Support:

Peter Billeschou, Leon Bonde Larsen, David Docherty

Scientific Committee

Aihong Ji (Nanjing University of Aeronautics & Astronautics, China)
Akio Ishiguro (Department of Electrical, Information and Physics Engineering, Tohoku University, Japan)
Alexander Sprowitz (Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Germany)
Auke Jan Ljspeert (École, Polytechnique Fédéale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
Bram Vanderborght (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)
Christian Tetzlaff (Georg-August University Göttingen, Germany)
Clemens F. Schaber (Kiel University, Germany)
Dai Owaki (Research Institute of Electrical Communication, Tohoku University, Japan)
Daniel Renjewski (Technical University of Munich, Germany)
Daniel Tinello (Graz University of Technology, Austria)
Danish Shaikh (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark)
Dingguo Zhang (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
Emily Baird (Lund University, Sweden)
Florentin Wörgötter (Georg-August University Göttingen, Germany)
Friedrich G. Barth (University of Vienna, Austria)
Fumitoshi Matsuno (Kyoto University, Japan)
Giuseppe Carbone (University of Cassino and Southern Latium, Italy)
Guangming Chen (Nanjing University of Aeronautics & Astronautics, China)
Hongkai Li (Nanjing University of Aeronautics & Astronautics, China)
Huawei Chen (Beihang University, China)
Ji Ke Ju (Nanjing University of Aeronautics & Astronautics, China)
Jorgen C. Larsen (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark)
Limei Tian (Jilin University, China)
Luca Patanè (University of Catania, Italy)
Malte Schilling (The Center of Excellence for Cognitive Interaction Technology, University of Bielefeld, Germany)
Masahiro Shimizu (Osaka University, Japan)
Paolo Arena (University of Catania, Italy)
Pichaya Pattanasattayavong (Vidyasirimedhi Institute of Science and Technology, Thailand)
Poramate Manoonpong (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark & Nanjing University of Aeronautics & Astronautics, China)
Shinya Aoi (Kyoto University, Japan)
Sridhar Ravi ( RMIT University, Australia)
Stanislav Gorb (Kiel University, Germany)
Thierry Darmanin (University of Nice Sophia Antipolis, France)
Thomas Stegmaier (ITV Denkendorf, Germany)
Tobias Seidl (Westfälisches Institut für Bionik, Germany)
Tomas Kulvicius (Georg-August University Göttingen, Germany)
Vinich Promarak (Vidyasirimedhi Institute of Science and Technology, Thailand)
Werasak Surareungchai (King Mongkut’s University of Technology, Thailand)
Yang Li (Nanjing University of Aeronautics & Astronautics, China)
Yu Tian (Tsinghua University, China)
Yulia Sandamirskaya (Institute of Neuroinformatics (INI), University and ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
Zhiguang Guo (Lanzhou Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
Zhiwei Yu (Nanjing University of Aeronautics & Astronautics, China)
Zhiwu Han (Jilin University, China)
Zhongyuan Wang (Chinese University of Hong Kong, China)
Zuankai Wang (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)


Conference Address

Campusvej 55, Odense M, 5230, Denmark